



Highland winners in Euroquiz final:

Cradlehall primary school wins at the Scottish Parliament

14 May 2013



Congratulations to the P6 team from Cradlehall Primary School in Inverness who won the Scottish European Educational Trust's national Euroquiz final, which took place in the Scottish Parliament yesterday (13 May 2013). Team members Anna Taylor, Logan Ewan, Paul Wilby and Adam McArthur beat the team from St. Leonard's Primary School in South Lanarkshire with their fingers on the buzzer in a close run final round. Kellands Primary from Inverurie took third place, after an exciting tiebreak against Edinburgh's Blackhall Primary.

The European Parliament is the main sponsor of this year's event, which aims to develop the knowledge of Europe and the European Union amongst Scotland's young people. Twenty nine teams of primary six pupils from schools from the Western Isles to Dumfries and Galloway arrived at the Parliament's debating chamber with high hopes of being crowned Euroquiz 2013 winners. Despite a delayed start due to a fire evacuation, the students' focus was not disturbed, as they demonstrated an impressive level of knowledge about European countries, history, culture, current affairs and the EU. **Martin Schultz, President of the European Parliament**, sent his "warmest congratulations" to finalists in this year's Euroquiz: "2013 is the European Year of Citizens and I am delighted that the citizens of the future are learning so actively about their European neighbours and our shared European values and objectives."

The quiz is run by the Scottish European Educational Trust (SEET) with almost 1300 pupils from 315 schools competing in the heats held across 29 of the 32 local authorities throughout the school year. The winning teams from each heat took part in yesterday's grand final, which was hosted by Elaine Smith MSP, Deputy Presiding Officer. James Temple-Smithson, Head of the European Parliament's office in Scotland, and Alyn Smith MEP provided the answers as the audience were asked to pit their knowledge against that of these youngsters.

For the first time this year, the event has attracted Scottish Government funding to support the inclusion of a language component in the Euroquiz. In the language round participants had to demonstrate their understanding of simple questions and phrases spoken in French, German, Spanish and Italian. Mike Russell MSP, Cabinet Secretary for Education and Lifelong Learning, commented that the Euroquiz is a "wonderful way to learn about Europe and its rich history and culture. It opens minds to other people, their language and countries and is a great opportunity for young Scots to learn about Europe and Scotland's place in it."

Cradlehall headteacher Lawrence Sutherland said, "The team has worked so diligently, doing their own research and studying different European topics each week in preparation for this event. It has clearly broadened their knowledge and understanding of other countries and cultures, while teaching them to work together as a team. They deserve this win."

One of the winning pupils from the Cradlehall team said, "This is the first time our school has made it to the final in Edinburgh, and then we won! I enjoyed learning lots about Europe and the EU as we prepared for Europuiz."

Ends

See below for list of participating schools and contact details for other photographs.

For further information, please contact:

Sophie Buxton National Organiser Scottish European Educational Trust

Tel: 0131 557 9886 Mobile: 07903 693106

Email: sophiebuxton@seet.uk.com

Web: http://www.seet.org.uk



Notes to Editor:

1. A selection of photography of the event is available from the Scottish Parliament at www.scottishparliamentphoto.com, Image © Scottish Parliamentary Corporate Body – 2012. Licensed under the Open Scottish Parliament Licence v1.0.

2. The 29 Scottish primary schools taking part in the 2013 Euroquiz final were:

Alloway Primary South Ayrshire

Applegrove Moray
Barnhill Dundee

Bearsden East Dunbartonshire

Blackhall Edinburgh
Bonnyrigg Midlothian

Bridge of Allan Stirling

Bridge of Weir Renfrewshire

Cradlehall Highland
Glasgow Academy Glasgow

Hermitage Argyll & Bute
Kellands Aberdeenshire

Kinnaird Falkirk

Law East Lothian

Lochmaben Dumfries & Galloway

Nether Robertland East Ayrshire

Newport Fife

Our Lady of the Missions East Renfrewshire

St. John Ogilvie RC West Lothian

St John's Inverclyde

St Joseph's RC

St Leonard's

North Lanarkshire

South Lanarkshire

St Mary Duntocher West Dunbartonshire

St Peter's Aberdeen City

St Ronan's Scottish Borders

Stornaway Western Isles

Strathdevon Clackmannanshire

Timmergreens Angus

West Kilbride North Ayrshire